Powering up an M200t after storage

Greetings, and first off let me say thanks for this great site and all the resources here. I am a new user of this site and hope to soon be a Carver amp user--let me explain. I have an M200t that my father gave me about 10 years ago. Dad was a recording engineer and WWII signal corps veteran, needless to say he took his sound equipment seriously. Growing up with a recording studio in the basement I learned the basics early and still dink around with gear as a hobbyist but I'm no expert. I've stored the M200t since Dad gave it to me and I want to start using it soon. I have a pair of AR2ax speakers that were also Dad's. I need to clean the pots on those speakers before I put them to work and I'd like to power them with the M200t. Here's my question--what if any precautions should I take or what procedures would be wise in powering up the M200t since it has sat for so long without being used?  Thanks in advance for your help.

• Thank You 3
  • That Rocks 1

I wouldn’t worry about the initial power up.  

I own 2 M-200t amps.

One was my first Carver. 

I beat the hell out of that amp for 10 years at obscene loads before I started seriously building and it has never let me down.

Ever.  No joke.

It was the sole reason I based my system around Carver.  

If it was stored clean and dry you should have no issues. 

Clean the external connections with some isopropyl alcohol.  

Make sure you have a clean source. 

Enjoy.

And we do like pictures.

Welcome to Carversite. 

• Thank You 1

Hi folks,