Sign in to follow this  
RichP714

mk II count three dozen

Excellent work Rich.  I am glad this has been a successful venture for you.  As you know, I am no techie, but i was wondering if you are making improvement tweaks along the way, ie is #36 modded exactly the same as #1?

I've changed a couple of things along the way; mostly with the M-1.0t mk II
At first, I had the caps mounted in a cradle, but UPS was able to unfix that; then I tie strapped them down to the mainboard on top of some weatherstripping foam (giving them an absorptive bed to lie in) and that worked, but didn't look very nice.  Now I use the mounting method that RussKall developed for his mk II; it looks much nicer.

Also on the M-1.0t mk II I did the 'fulcrum bias pivot' thing; I can't remember which one was the first, but they all get that now.
On the M-500t mk II I reduce the emitter resistor's value (and therefore the needed bias current) to keep the bias point more stable.  Also, I changed the LED driver circuit to accomodate the (often) weak secondary (lighting) transformer.

Guest robert
hi; Could you give me the e-mail or phone number of the facility performing the Mark II upgrade. I am not reading the letters correctly from their web sight . Thank you;

Robert

Rich, I noticed that they changed optocouplers between the M-500 and the M-500t.  I did a comparison between the two and found that the new one (in the t) passes 63v and the old one passes 80v.  Also, you can get the new one in two versions, one that passes a minimum of 50% of the current and one 100%.  The old one only passed > 50%.  In that they are both available, I wonder why the switch.  Cost?  Reliability?  One is a Toshiba part (new) and one is a Sharp.

hi; Could you give me the e-mail or phone number of the facility performing the Mark II upgrade. I am not reading the letters correctly from their web sight . Thank you;
Robert