Lance

Looking for advice of Speakers

I am new to site and am looking for advice on setting up my system . I have a m500t amp and a C1 pre amp and am thinking of buying a Pro-ject T1 turntable and a pair of Magnepan LSR speakers. Any thoughts on this set up? Thanks

• Thank You 3

Welcome to the site. 

The 500t/C1 is a great foundation for your system. The magnepan impedance dips to 3Ω.  That, and an 86db sensitivity might present a challenge to the 500t.  At moderate listening levels, you should be fine.  At loud listening levels, the amp will run hot, and you may not be able to “fill the room” without incurring thermal shutdown. 

Let  us know how it comes together:-)

• Thank You 2

Hello Lance, and welcome to thecarversite.com. We're glad you're hear. ;) There is a lot of information here, much technical know how, and a pretty good bunch of folks that are happy to help.

Like Daddyjt said,  the C-1/M500t is a great combination, and a great foundation. I've no experience with Magnepan speakers, but I do have a pair of Infinity RS-IIIbs that are 4 ohm nominal, and I think they dip lower than that at some frequencies. If I run them loud on my M500t, I can warm up a cold room :D. They like a modded M1.0t much better.

Please consider uploading some pics of your gear in the Members Systems area. We all like pics of all kinds of audio gear.

In the meantime, kick your shoes off, turn up the music, and welcome aboard.

giphy.gif

• Thank You 1

I own a set of LRS, but push them with my TFM-45 without issue at any volume.  Although most of my listening is not loud. 

I am running a Jl sub and they sound wonderful.  I've had them about a month and they are breaking in nicely and seem to be happy with the space I've provided them on the rear wall.

If I recall it was about a 4 month wait on the LRS