Jim Coash

Placating the "lunatic fringe". My woofer's bigger than yours

Greetings:  By now most of you are familiar with most of my "philosophy" about audio, performance and sound quality. During all those years working in the A/V business, mostly in sales but also with plenty of service and management experience, I was a hobbyist and music lover above all else.  I met a lot of people who really would have been just as happy selling something other than audio components and quite a few of them left when the grass appeared to be greener somewhere else.  Several of the salespeople from TSR moved next door into "The Computer Room" after Ken opened it in the late 70s.  At first Ken started by bringing in the early Commodore personal computers.  We had a Commodore 64 set up on the sales floor by late 1979 and I first played video games on it.  I thought it was about as boring as anything I could think of but others bought them and decided that they would make a good move by changing to computer sales.  Anyone employee who wanted to, had that option and I was approached more than once to make the move myself, but music and audio were not just a job to me they were my hobby as well and there was no way I would give that up.  When Rochelle "forced me out" in 1980 I considered working for other "audio" stores in Kalamazoo but none of them had the panache of TSR.  There was "Crazy Larry", "Ollie Fretter", "ABC Warehouse", "Lafayette Radio", "Douglas Sound" and "Highland Appliance" plus the two major TV stores, "Laing's TV" and "Bob Moore Zenith".  None of them seemed to meet my standards for either honesty or selection so for almost a year I sold auto parts for an east coast firm, "State Products".  Years later, after the demise of Showcase I sold cars for one year, lighting and home furnishings for "Hodgson's" and appliances for another place.  When Dick from Stereo Showcase in GR called me in the fall of 1980 I was so happy to be able to quit the auto parts job and take h