Howdy from Houston

My name is Paul and I'm new to the Carver world, and I love it. I have 2 M1.5ts and a TFM-24 I am currently refreshing. I also have a 

C-1 that I want to refresh as well. These are very interesting audio units! I'm not new to audio repairs but I am green when it comes to 

Carver gear. The way that it utilizes the power supply is something that I'm really into. Speaking of which, I am recapping one of the M1.5ts 

now and some of these 1uf 50V caps have way better specs than my new nichicons (They are new but it's what I had in stock)! The ESR

on the old caps are half that of the new ones but that's up by the level meter circuitry so I figure they didn't get a lot of abuse. Should I 

order some new Low ESR 1uf 50V? I'm aware that this is important in power supply circuitry but here is it important? I do want the best 

performance I can get out of these amps. I tend to trade and buy and sell audio gear a lot. It's a great way to enjoy the different brands

and designs over the years. Any suggestions with these refreshes would be greatly appreciated. 

I'm looking forward to learning from you guys.

• Thank You 8
  • That Rocks 1

Welcome @cerglabs!

Glad you have found some very nice Carver gear and want to refresh them.

There are several brilliant guys who will likely chime in to help you along. 

In the meantime if you look around and make some posts you'll soon be able to post pictures of your equipment and document your repairs.

• Thank You 1

• Community Admin

Welcome @cerglabs.

Best advice to learn from history, is to use "search" on the site..., there is a TON of project history for many amps on this site.

Then, as you do your project, start a thread in the right section, and build the knowledge base from your experience.

Thanks for joining, welcome to the site !!

• Thank You 2

Thanks guys for the warm welcome. @AndrewJohn I've been doing a bit of researching on the site and plan to do